A list of upcoming council by elections and vacant seats

Link also to >>> Council Election results June 2015 - April 2016

Collated by MiddleEnglander

7th April - 3Caerphilly UA, Ynysddu - Labour resigned - 4 candidates: Lab, LD, Plaid Cymru, UKIP
East Riding of Yorkshire, Pocklington Provincial - 4 candidates: Con, Lab, UKIP, Ind
Perth & Kinross UA, Almond & Earn - Independent died - 5 candidates: Con, Lab, LD, SNP, UKIP

14th April - 3
Cornwall UA, Menhendiot - Conservative died - 5 candidates: Con, Lab, LD, UKIP, Green
Cornwall UA, Wadebridge West - Conservative resigned - 5 candidates: Con, Lab, LD, Green, Ind
Taunton Deane DC, Halcon - Liberal Democrat resigned - 5 candidates: Con, Lab, LD, UKIP, Green


There are currently 77 known council vacancies where the by-election is being held on 5th May. 

Conservative held seats - 38
Barrow-in-Furness BC, Dalton South 
Braintree DC, Witham South
Breckland DC, Attleborough Queens & Besthorpe
* Brentwood BC, Tipps Cross
Canterbury BC, Reculver
* Castle Point, St George's
* Daventry DC, Woodford
* Dudley MB, Pedmore & Stourbridge East
East Hants DC, Clanfield & Finchdean
East Riding of Yorkshire UA, East Wolds & Coastal
Forest Heath DC, Brandon West
Forest Heath DC, South
Guildford BC, Stoke
Hampshire CC, Fareham Town
Hampshire CC, Headley
* Ipswich BC, Castle Hills
Kensington & Chelsea - 2 seats
Lancaster BC, Carnforth & Millhead
Melton DC, Egerton
North Dorset DC, Blanford Hilltop
North Dorset DC, Hill Forts
* Pendle BC, Barrowford
Redbridge LB, Roding
* Runnymede BC, Woodham
Rutland UA, Greetham
St Edmundsbury BC, Haverhill North
* Southampton UA, Harefield
South Buckinghamshire DC, Farnham & Hedgerley
South Kesteven DC, Deeping St James
Spelthorne BC, Ashford North & Stanwell South
Stafford CC, Uttoxeter Town
Suffolk CC, Bixley
Suffolk CC, Haverhill Cangle
* Three Rivers, Carpenders Park
Torbay UA, Tormohun
Waveney DC, Wrentham
Wiltshire UA, Amsbury

Labour held seats - 29Barnet LB, Underhill
Brent LB, Kilburn 
Croydon LB, West Thornton
Doncaster MB, Kirk Sandall & Edenthorpe
East Sussex CC, St Helens & Silverhill
Glasgow UA / Anderton / City
Greenwich LB, Glyndon
Hackney LB, Hackney Downs
Hackney LB, Stoke Newington
* Hastings BC, Old Hastings
Lancaster BC, John O'Gaunt
Lancashire CC, Lancaster East
* Liverpool MB, Belle Vale
* Liverpool MB, Norris Green
Merton LB, Figge's March
* Nuneaton & Bedworth BC, Exhall
* St Helens MB, West Park
* Salford MB, Little Hulton
* Sefton MB, St Oswalds
* Southampton UA, Woolston
Southwark LB, College
Southwark LB, Newington
Swansea UA, Mynyddbach
* Tameside MB, West Park
* Three Rivers DC, South Oxhey
Westminster LB, Church Street
* Weymouth & Portland BC, Wyke Regis
* Wirral MB, Liscard
* Wokingham UA, Bulmershe & Whitegates

Liberal Democrat held seats - 3
Fareham BC, Fareham East
Gloucester CC, Churchdown 
* Pendle BC, Craven

UKIP held seats - 3
Havering LB, Heaton
Surrey CC, Staines South & Ashford West
Tendring DC, St Pauls

Independent held seats - 4
Cambridgeshire CC, St Neots Eaton Socon & Eynesbury 
* Epping Forest DC, Loughton Forest
* Huntingdonshire DC, St Neots Eynesbury
* Mole Valley DC, Ashstead Common

* "double" election with a by-election held at the same time as the annual election


There are currently 7 vacancies which will not be filled on 5th May.

2nd June - 3
Argyll & Bute UA, Oban North & Lorn - SNP sitting as Independent resigned
Denbighshire UA, Diserth - Conservative died
Denbighshire UA, Lower Denbigh - Independent died

Not yet called - 4
Hambleton DC, Northallerton South - Conservative died 23rd March
Newark & Sherwood DC, Balderton South - Conservative died 13th March
North Yorkshire CC, Northallerton - Conservative died 23rd March
Vale of Glamorgan UA, Rhoose - Independent killed in motor accident 31st March