The 21 Labour MPs who defy the whip

The new charter requiring the public finances to be in overall budget surplus by 2019-20 was passed by 320 to 258.

The Labour MPs who abstained were: Fiona Mactaggart, Rushanara Ali, Ian Austin, Ben Bradshaw, Adrian Bailey, Shabana Mahmood, Ann Coffey, Andrew Smith, Simon Danczuk, Jamie Reed, Chris Evans, Graham Stringer, Frank Field, Gisela Stuart, Mike Gapes, Margaret Hodge, Tristram Hunt, Graham Jones, Helen Jones, Liz Kendall, Chris Leslie.