Labour leadership timetable

15 May: The formal election period opens

8 June: Parliamentary Labour Party will stage hustings for the contenders
9 June: More hustings for the deputy leader contenders. Nominations for both posts open.
15 June: Nominations for leader will close at midday
17 June: Nominations for their deputy will close at midday
12 August: Deadline for new party members to be eligible to vote
14 August: Ballot papers sent out by post
10 September: Polling closes at midday
12 September: Winners announced at special conference
27 September: Labour's party conference begins