Labours shortlist of six candidates for London Mayoral election

  • Diane Abbott, MP for Hackney North and Stoke Newington since 1987, former health minister
  • Tessa Jowell, former MP for Dulwich and West Norwood, former culture secretary and Olympics minister
  • Sadiq Khan, MP for Tooting, former transport minister, shadow minister for London
  • David Lammy, MP for Tottenham, former minister for universities and skills
  • Gareth Thomas, MP for Harrow West, former international development minister
  • Christian Wolmar, journalist and author specialising in transport issues.
Voting, on a one-member, one-vote basis, will be open to Labour members and anyone who pays £3 to be a registered supporter or signs up as an affiliate supporter by 12 August.
The victor will be announced alongside the party's new leader and deputy over the weekend of 12/13 September.